How Rediff Shopping Duped me !

rediffshopping12345

After a lot of confusion and discussions with my best friend Amit, whether to buy this costly giant phone or not, we both finally ordered a Nexus 6 each in November 2014. It really is exciting to pre-order a gadget if you are a geek and such an inexplicable feeling. While waiting for the delivery of Nexus 6 by Flipkart, I ordered a Screen guard, a back cover. Phone is huge, so will the needed power backup be, I thought. And decided to buy a Xiaomi Mi Power Bank with whopping 10400 mAh of the charge storage.

#GOSF2014 started here in India, 10th-12th December and I was burning my eyes on laptop at night, searching a deal on Mi power bank. Finally, I found a great deal on Rediff Shopping. While the Original Price was Rs 999 else where, it was Rs 899 on Flipkart but Rediff was offering Rs 719 Handling charges Rs 88 and total Rs 817, not bad I thought. After verifying the specifications from the description provided under the image, I was sure I have cracked the deal, I ordered the silver one.

Rs 817…Wow!! Felt quite lucky and thanked Google for a Shopping Festival for India!

I was in a meeting while i received an anonymous call (yeah I was really waiting for my Nexus 6 getting delivered which, was delayed due to unknown reasons.), I took a break, rushed through the stairs to the reception. I was utmost happy and gushed with adrenaline as I wanted to hold it in my hand.

“817 sir”  said the delivery guy.

“what..?” nonplussed I exclaimed.

“Sir 817 for your package” he muttered, probably in surprise if I was the right guy.

But within few miliseconds I realized I ordered something else few days back, A power bank. Damn!!

I thought it was the phone.

Anyways as I opened the packaging after the meeting, I was turned down by the Black color of the product while I ordered a Silver one! But okay, they mentioned “subject to availability” while ordering.

I tested it for few hours, it ran fine. But somewhere I was not happy with the type of packaging it was shipped in.

The third day i realized that the amount of charge it was giving to my Samsung Tab was not correct. In the meantime My Roommate also ordered one and got his delivered via Flipkart. I saw his Mi Powerbank with same specifications I was shocked! To my utter dismay, I was duped and cheated by Rediff Shopping! The one delivered to me was completely fake although both looked strikingly similar.

Here are the comparison pictures of the two.

 The pictures

Accessory

Design

packaging2

packaging

Design2

Design3

Design4

Design5

Led

Rediff’s Response.

In response to my complaints to Rediff Shopping, I received the following mail.

Dear Sudhanshu,

Greetings from Rediff.com

We would like to inform you that as per our Return / Refund / Replacement policy, we are unable to entertain your query since the same has reached us after the 48 hours of the product being delivered.

You can visit a rediff shop & gift return policy link for further details.

Assure you of prompt and courteous response on all your visits to Rediff.com

Warm regards,
Vipul
Customer support
www.rediff.com

And as usual nothing happened!

48 hours of refund period, are you insane ? Every other Shopping site gives minimum 7days to 15days of replacement guarantee. See Flipkart’s 30 days on same product.

fk1

I mailed that reseller “Gadget Kingdom Online”, no reply came. I called the phone number and it says this number is not in service!!

I ask these questions from Rediff Shopping.

  • How does Rediff verify it’s re-sellers if they do not reply via emails and phones are dead?
  • Why is only 2 day replacement duration given while they themselves take 3 days to reply?
  • Why Rediff has no customer care calling number for a quick response ?

It clearly suggests that Rediff Shopping is a part of this Scam and somehow they are surely abetting this crime and getting some profits from these fake transactions.

List of re-sellers on Rediff Shopping with Fake product.

See these pictures of listed re-sellers on Rediff selling Xiaomi Mi Powerbank. How can they be so cheap ?

Simple…they are all fake, unverified and partnered with Rediff Shopping.

Dated jan 2 2014 red2 Dated jan 2 2014 red4

Request to Xiaomi.

Fake products are always sold throughout the world. There is nothing original brands can do about this. But one action, I understand brands do and should take is to at least keep a track of such activities. Shopping giants like Rediff Shopping are breeding these scams under their cloak.

Usually these fake sellers are limited to a specific sections of a town or a city but imagine their reach if they reach to public via Online shopping giants and their cloak of genuinity ?

redfonln

I request Xiaomi to take some action on behalf of people who believe in your brand. Your action may stop other such practices. If Rediff has somehow registered these re-sellers, it means they might have track of there whereabouts and physical locations.

To whoever reading this post.

I request you all to please share this post and show Rediff in face that these practices can not continue much longer.

For me it’s not about the item but, The Trust that we keep in these remotely stated online junk stores, while we relax on the couch and watch our favorite TV shows.

For me it’s not about the highlight but to highlight the scams which are happening under cloak of “Assurances and Genuinity”

Please Re-Share my tweet if you can.

Thanks for reading!

3 responses to “How Rediff Shopping Duped me !

Leave a Reply

